In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.

Further events will be added to the Calendar from time to time during the course of the season.

2019 CALENDAR

printer-friendly version Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Wed 20 February (19:30)   AGM Methodist Church Hall, New Road, Croxley Green, WD3 3EL
Wed 27 February (19:00)   Annual club dinner Blue Check Restaurant, 144-146 High St., Bushey, WD23 3DH
hide APRIL
Tue 2 April   Courts 1,2 & 4 open for the summer season  
Fri 5 April (10:00) ACGC Introduction to Croquet course  
Fri 12 April (10:00) ACGC Introduction to Croquet course  
Sat 13 April (provisional) ACFriendly Oxford University Home
Wed 17 April ACLeague Wrest Park Home   WON 6-0
Thu 18 April (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: Mark Homan
Fri 19 April GCLeague Letchworth (Level Open) Away   LOST 7-13
hide MAY
Thu 2 May GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Away   LOST 4-6
Fri 3 May GCNational Guildford & Godalming Away   LOST 2-5
Mon 6 May ACNational Wrest Park Away   LOST 3-4
Mon 6 May (09:30) GCTournament Open GC B-Level Tournament Winner: Desmond Taylor
Tue 7 May GCTournament GC C-Class Tournament Winner: Marian Hardy
Wed 8 May ACLeague Letchworth Away   WON 4-2
Sun 12 May ACGC Open Day  
Wed 15 - Thu 16 May (09:30) ACTournament Open AC Midweek Advanced Tournament Winners: Nigel Polhill,
Alan Clark
Fri 17 May GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy Leighton Linslade   SCORE: 22 points
Wed 22 May GCLeague Northampton (Level Open) Home   WON 14-6
Thu 23 May ACFriendly Cambridge University Home   WON 5-2
Thu 30 May GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Home   Cancelled
hide JUNE
June   Court 3 open for play  
Sun 2 June GCNational Chelmsford Away   WON 4-3
Mon 3 June GCLeague Northampton Mallets (Handicap) Away   DREW 9-9
Wed 5 June ACLeague St. Albans Home   DREW 3-3
Sat 8 June (09:30) ACTournament Open AC One-Day Tournament Winners: Jonathan Lamb,
Christopher Rolph
Tue 11 June ACLeague Meldreth Away   LOST 1-3
Thu 13 June GCFriendly High Wycombe Home   DREW 8-8
Mon 17 June GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy Wrest Park   SCORE: 18 points
Mon 24 June GCLeague Enfield (Level Open) Away   WON 12-8
Thu 27 June GCLeague Leighton Linslade (Handicap) Home   WON 11-7
hide JULY
Thu 4 July GCLeague Letchworth (Level Open) Home   LOST 9-11
Sat 6 July (10:00) GCTournament EACF GC Club Champions Tournament  
Mon 8 July (15:00) ACGC Private event  
Wed 10 July ACNational High Wycombe Home   LOST 2-5
Sat 13 July GCNational Roehampton Home   LOST 2½-4½
Thu 18 July GCLeague Wrest Park (Handicap) Home   DREW 9-9
Sat 20 July AC Oxbridge Cuppers play-off match  
Wed 24 July-Mon 29 July ACFriendly AC South West Tour
Away Matches:W:2, D:2, L:2
Games:W:26, L:27
Mon 29 July-Tue 30 July GCFriendly GC Tour Away
Wed 31 July (10:30) ACLeague Northampton Home   DREW 3-3
hide AUGUST
Thu 1 August GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy    SCORE: 20 points
Thu 8 August GCLeague Enfield (Level Open) Home   WON 15-2
Thu 15 August GCLeague Northampton (Level Open) Away   LOST 4-16
Sat 17 August GCFriendly High Wycombe Away   WON 10-6
Mon 19 August GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy Northampton   SCORE: 15 points
Thu 22 August GCLeague Northampton Hoops (Handicap) Home   WON 12-6
Sun 25 August GCTournament GC Fun Day Tournament Winner: Ron Drew
Thu 29 August GCFriendly Finchley Victoria Home
hide SEPTEMBER
Wed 4 September ACFriendly Cambridge University Home   WON 4-2
Sat 7 September ACTournament AC One-Day Tournament Winner: Wendy Spencer-Smith
Sun 8 September GC EACF GC Handicap League semi-final  
Thu 26 September (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: John Bee
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
Sat 5 - Sun 6 October ACTournament National Schools & Juniors Tournament  
Mon 7 October   Courts closed for winter maintenance  
Thu 31 October (19:30)   Special General Meeting Essex Arms, Langley Way, Watford, WD17 3EG
hide 2020 CALENDAR YEAR
Wed 12 February (19:00)   Annual club dinner Blue Check Restaurant, 144-146 High St., Bushey, WD23 3DH
Fri 24 July-Wed 29 July
(provisional)
ACFriendly AC South West Tour Away
Sun 6 September GCTournament National Grass Roots Competition final  
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition    

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Apart from when it clashes with the event calendar above, Club members meet each week during the playing season as follows. Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance. A list of members' contact details is posted inside the club hut.

Mondays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:00
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Thursdays
AC
court maintenance and some club matches
Association Croquet from 16:00 (summer only)
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 09:45
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 12:00

New in 2019: Two of the club's four courts are allocated to the regular sessions listed above; the other two courts can be used for either Association or Golf Croquet on any day and at any time (except on occasions when allocated to a club match or tournament), and can be booked in advance by members using the online Court Booking System.

In addition, non-members are welcome to visit for free in up to three club sessions to try it out before being asked to join. Just turn up and speak to a member. Equipment will be provided by the club. All we ask is that you wear flat-soled shoes.

COACHING

ACGC An Introduction to Croquet course for 2019 will be held on Sundays 5 and 12 April from 10:00 - 12:30. If you are interested in this course please contact us. There is a fee of £15 which is deductible from this year's membership fee if you join the club.

In addition to any more formal courses that might be arranged, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on an ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members.