AC Association Croquet

The club stages an internal one-day Association Croquet One-Ball Tournament early in the season. This year it is on Wednesday 28th April and will be conducted in accordance with the Covid restrictions applying on the day.

The One-Ball game is a variation of Association Croquet in which each side only has one ball instead of two. In other respects the normal rules of Association Croquet apply, i.e. you can roquet and take croquet from your opponent's ball, and use this to help to make hoops. However, with only two balls in play, the games are typically quick and breaks are much harder to execute than in the full AC game, so the character of the One-Ball game is a bit more like Golf Croquet.

The tournament is once again run as a charity event as part of the national Charity One-Ball Competition.

In last year's tournament, Watford raised the largest amount of money of all clubs in the country and an all-time national record amount.

It has an optional entry fee that will be donated to the British Heart Foundation. A donation of at least £5 is suggested. This also means that the event will become a qualifying tournament in the national Charity One-Ball Handicap Competition and, depending on the total amount raised, the winner(s) of our tournament will become eligible to play in the national final at Surbiton on Sunday 9th May. Further details can be found on the Croquet Association fixture list.

Results of these games should not be entered on the handicap card.

Format: tba, subject to Covid restrictions, final list of participants and weather
Entry fee: None, but a donation of £5+ is suggested to be donated in aid of the British Heart Foundation.
(Cash or cheque on the day. Gift Aid forms will be available. Last year's generous donations averaged over £40 per player.)
Date: Wednesday 28 April (11:00 start) - might start earlier if numbers are large
Capacity:† 26Entries so far: 25
Manager: Simon Hathrell
Charity One-Ball
Tournament by year:

Name Club H'cap
David Frost Enfield -1
Kevin Carter Surbiton 0
Gary Bennett Watford ½
Nick Archer Watford 2
Alan Clark Watford
Heather Bennett St. Albans 3
Arthur Reed Watford 3
Geoff Johnson Watford 3
John Smallbone Watford
Stephen Mills Watford 6
André Machell Watford 6
Mark Homan Watford 6
John Street Enfield 8
Robin Barry Watford 9
Adam Huby Watford 9
Quiller Barrett Watford 11
Michael Broadway Enfield 12
Frances Broadway Enfield 20
David Robinson [no club] 20
Paul Lakra Watford 24
Janet Carleton Watford 24
Eddie Chung Watford 24
Linda Williams Watford 26
Peter Marsh Finchley Victoria  
Simon Brown Finchley Victoria  

† Max 24 playing plus 2 between games
* Special AC handicap assigned for 1-ball only, as per the 2018 CA guidelines.

Tie-breaking rules tba subject to format.