In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.

Further events will be added to the Calendar from time to time during the course of the season.

2018 CALENDAR

printer-friendly version Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Sat 13 January (19:00)   Quiz Night Cancelled
Wed 21 February (19:00)   Annual club dinner Blue Check Restaurant, 144-146 High St., Bushey, WD23 3DH
Thu 22 March (19:30)   AGM Methodist Church Hall, New Road, Croxley Green, WD3 3EL
Fri 30 March   Courts 1 & 2 reopen for the summer season  
hide APRIL
Sat 7 April ACFriendly Oxford University Home   LOST 3-4
Thu 12 April (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: Adam Huby
Wed 25 April ACLeague Enfield Home
hide MAY
Mon 7 May (09:30) GCTournament Open GC B-Level Tournament  
Tue 8 May GCTournament GC C-Class Tournament  
Thu 10 May ACLeague Wrest Park Away
Sun 13 May ACGC Open Day  
Mon 14 May ACNational Pinchbeck Wrest Park
Sun 20 May (10:00) ACGC Introduction to Croquet course  
Tue 22 May GCLeague Northampton Hoops (Handicap) Away
Wed 23 May ACNational Letchworth Home
Sat 26 May (10:30) ACLeague Letchworth Home
Sun 27 May (10:00) ACGC Introduction to Croquet course  
Tue 29 May GCLeague Leighton Linslade (Handicap) Away
Wed 30 May ACNational High Wycombe Home
hide JUNE
Sat 2 June (provisional) ACFriendly Cambridge University Home
Sun 3 June (10:00) ACGC Introduction to Croquet course  
Thu 7 June GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Home
Sat 9 June (09:30) ACTournament Open AC Level Advanced Tournament  
Sun 10 June (14:00) Tournament Gymkhana  
Wed 13 June (18:30) GC Private event  
Thu 14 June GCFriendly High Wycombe Home
Sat 16 June (09:30) ACTournament Open AC Handicap Advanced Tournament  
Tue 26 June GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Away
Fri 29 June-Sun 1 July GCFriendly GC Tour Away
hide JULY
Thu 12 July GCLeague Northampton Mallets (Handicap) Home
Wed 25 July-Tue 31 July ACFriendly AC South West Tour Away
Mon 30 July GCLeague Wrest Park (Handicap) Away
hide AUGUST
Thu 9 August GC Enfield Home
Thu 16 August (provisional) ACFriendly High Wycombe Home
Thu 23 August GC Northampton Home
Thu 30 August GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Home
hide SEPTEMBER
Sat 8 September (09:30) ACTournament AC One-Day Tournament  
Mon 17 September GCTournament 4-Club Trophy [tba]
Thu 27 September (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament  
Sun 30 September ACLeague AC Regional league play-off
(if winning Beds & Herts league)
Wrest Park
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
Sun 21 October   Quiz night Cancelled
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition    

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Apart from when it clashes with the event calendar above, Club members meet each week during the playing season as follows. Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance. A list of members' contact details is posted inside the club hut.

Mondays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:00
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Thursdays
AC
court maintenance
Association Croquet from 16:00 (summer only)
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 09:45
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 12:00

In addition, non-members are welcome to visit for free in up to three club sessions to try it out before being asked to join. Just turn up and speak to a member. Equipment will be provided by the club. All we ask is that you wear flat-soled shoes.

COACHING

ACGC An Introduction to Croquet course for 2018 will be held on Sundays 20, 27 May and 3 June from 10:00 - 12:00. If you are interested in this course please contact us. There is a fee of £15 which is deductible from this year's membership fee if you join the club.

In addition to any more formal courses that might be arranged, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on an ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members.